Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2017

Description Date(s) Day(s) of Week
Confirmation Deadline Aug. 18 Friday
Faculty Conference Aug. 18 Friday
Classes Start (1) Aug. 21 Monday
Graduate Student Registration Deadline - Late Fee Applied After this Date Aug. 25 Friday
Labor Day - Campus Closed Sep. 4 Monday
Census Day Sep. 5 Tuesday
Fall Break (not always Columbus Day) Oct. 16 & 17 Monday & Tuesday
Midterm Grades Due Oct. 16 Monday
Last Withdrawal - Continuing Students (12 wks) Nov. 10 Friday
Priority Registration for Spring Term Nov. 13-17 Monday - Friday
Non-Class Day prior to Thanksgiving Break Nov. 22 Wednesday
Thanksgiving Break - Campus Closed Nov. 23-24 Thursday & Friday
Last Withdrawal - New Freshmen & Transfers Dec. 1 Friday
Classes End Dec. 7 Thursday
Dead Week - no exams Dec. 4-8 Monday - Friday
Dead Day - no academic activities Dec. 8 Friday
Final Exams Dec. 9, 11-14 Saturday, Monday - Thursday
Commencement Dec. 15 Friday
Semester Ends Dec. 15 Friday
Final Grades Due Dec. 18 Monday
Winter Break Dec. 18 - Jan 8

 Spring Semester 2018

Description Date(s) Day(s) of Week
Confirmation Deadline Jan. 8 Monday
Classes Start (1) Jan. 9 Tuesday
Graduate Student Registration Deadline - Late Fee Applied After this Date Jan. 12 Friday
Martin Luther King Day - Campus Closed Jan. 15 Monday
Census Day Jan. 24 Wednesday
Non-Class Day - President's Day (2 days) Feb. 19-20 Monday-Tuesday
Midterm Grades Due Mar. 5 Monday
Spring Break Mar. 24 - Apr. 1 Saturday - Sunday
Priority Registration Summer I & II, Fall April 2 - 6 Monday - Friday
Last Withdrawal - Continuing & Grad (13 weeks) April 11 Wednesday
E-Days April 13-15 Friday - Sunday
Last Withdrawal - New Freshmen, New Transfers, New Graduate Students in the first two semesters at Mines April 27 Friday
Classes End May 3 Thursday
Dead Week - No Exams Apr. 30 - May 4 Monday - Friday
Dead Day - No Academic Activities May 4 Friday
Final Exams May 5, 7-10 Saturday, Monday - Thursday
Commencement - Grad May 10 Thursday
Commencement - UG May 11 Friday
Semester Ends May 11 Friday
Final Grades Due May 14 Monday

Summer Sessions 2018

Description Date(s) Day(s) of Week
Summer I Starts (6-week session) (1) May 14 Monday
Summer I Census May 18 Friday
Memorial Day - No Classes, Campus Closed May 28 Monday
Summer I Last Withdrawal - All Students June 8 Friday
Summer I Ends June 22 Friday
Summer I Grades Due June 25 Monday
Summer II Starts (6-week session) (1) June 25 Monday
Summer II Census June 29 Friday
Independence Day - No Classes, Campus Closed July 4 Wednesday
Summer II Last Withdrawal - All Students July 20 Friday
Summer II Ends (2) Aug. 3 Friday
Summer II Grades Due Aug. 6 Monday
Summer II Last Withdrawal (8-week physics courses only) Aug. 3 Friday
Summer II Ends (8-week physics courses only) Aug. 16 Thursday
Summer II Grades Due (8-week physics curses only) Aug. 20 Monday
Summer Grades Available on Transcript Aug. 22 Wednesday