Hydrologic Science and Engineering

Degrees Offered

  • Master of Science (Hydrology), Non-thesis 
  • Master of Science (Hydrology), Thesis 
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Hydrology)

Program Description

Hydrologic Science and Engineering (HSE) is comprised of faculty from several different Mines departments and offers interdisciplinary graduate degrees in hydrology.

The program offers programs of study in fundamental hydrologic science and applied hydrology with engineering applications. Our program encompasses groundwater hydrology, surface-water hydrology, vadose-zone hydrology, watershed hydrology, contaminant transport and fate, contaminant remediation, hydrogeophysics, and water policy/law. 

HSE requires a core study of formal graduate courses for all degrees. Programs of study are interdisciplinary in nature, and coursework is obtained from multiple departments at Mines and is approved for each student by the student’s advisor and thesis committee.

To achieve the Master of Science (MS) degree, students may elect the Non-Thesis option, based exclusively upon coursework and an independent study project or a designated design course, or the Thesis option. The thesis option is comprised of coursework in combination with individual laboratory, modeling and/or field research performed under the guidance of a faculty advisor and presented in a written thesis approved by the student’s committee.

To achieve the Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degree, students are expected to complete a combination of coursework and novel, original research, under the guidance of a faculty advisor and Doctoral committee, which culminates in a significant scholarly contribution to a specialized field in hydrologic sciences or engineering. Full-time enrollment is expected and leads to the greatest success, although part-time enrollment may be allowed under special circumstances. All doctoral students must complete the full-time, on-campus residency requirements.

Currently, students will apply to the Hydrology program through the Graduate School and be assigned to the HSE participating department of the student's HSE advisor. Participating units include: Chemistry and Geochemistry, Civil & Environmental Engineering (CEE), Geology and Geological Engineering (GE), Geophysical Engineering, Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences (HASS), Mechanical Engineering (ME), Mining Engineering (MN), and Petroleum Engineering (PE). HSE is part of the Western Regional Graduate Program (WICHE), a recognition that designates the programs as unique within the Western United States. An important benefit of this designation is that students from several western states are given the tuition status of Colorado residents. These states include Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

For more information on program curriculum please refer to the HSE website at hydrology.mines.edu.

Primary Contact

Kim Brock


Jonathan (Josh) Sharp, HSE Director, Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering

David Benson, HSE Associate Director, Professor, Geology & Geological Engineering

Department of Chemistry

James Ranville, Professor

Bettina Voelker, Professor

Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering

Eric Anderson, Associate Professor

Christopher Higgins, Professor

Terri Hogue, Dean of Earth & Society Programs

Tissa Illangasekare, Professor and AMAX Distinguished Chair

Ning Lu, Professor

Junko Munakata Marr, Professor and Department Head CEE

John McCray, Professor

John Spear, Professor

Department of Economics and Business

Steven M. Smith, Assistant Professor

Department of Geology and Geological Engineering

Adrienne Marshall, Assistant Professor, Geology and Geological Engineering

Reed Maxwell, Professor

Danica Roth, Assistant Professor

Paul Santi, Professor

Kamini Singha, Professor

Alexis Sitchler, Associate Professor

Wendy Zhou, Professor

Department of Geophysics

John Bradford, Vice President for Global Initiatives

Brandon Dugan, Professor and Baker Hughes Chair in Petrophysics & Borehole Geophysics and Associate Department Head GP

Matthew Siegfried, Assistant Professor

Department of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences

Hussein Amery, Professor

Adrianne Kroepsch, Assistant Professor

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Nils Tilton, Associate Professor

Department of Mining Engineering

Rennie Kaunda, Assistant Professor

Department of Petroleum Engineering

Yu-Shu Wu, Professor