Nuclear Engineering

Degrees Offered

  • Master of Engineering (Nuclear Engineering)
  • Master of Science (Nuclear Engineering)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Nuclear Engineering)

Program Description

The Nuclear Science and Engineering program at the Colorado School of Mines is interdisciplinary in nature and draws contributions from departments across the university. While delivering a traditional Nuclear Engineering course core, the School of Mines program in Nuclear Science and Engineering emphasizes the nuclear fuel life cycle. Faculty bring to the program expertise in all aspects of the nuclear fuel life cycle; fuel exploration and processing, nuclear power systems production, design and operation, fuel recycling, storage and waste remediation, radiation detection and radiation damage as well as the policy issues surrounding each of these activities. Related research is conducted through the Nuclear Science and Engineering Center.

Students in all three Nuclear Engineering degrees are exposed to a broad systems overview of the complete nuclear fuel cycle as well as obtaining detailed expertise in a particular component of the cycle. Breadth is assured by requiring all students to complete a rigorous set of core courses. The core consists of a 13 credit-hour course sequence. The remainder of the course and research work is obtained from the multiple participating departments, as approved for each student by the student's advisor and the student's thesis committee (as appropriate).

The Master of Engineering degree is a non-thesis graduate degree intended to supplement the student's undergraduate degree by providing the core knowledge needed to prepare the student to pursue a career in the nuclear energy field. The Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy degrees are thesis-based degrees that emphasize research.

In addition, students majoring in allied fields may complete a minor degree through the Nuclear Science and Engineering Program, consisting of 12 credit hours of coursework (9 credit hours for Masters students). The Nuclear Science and Engineering Minor programs are designed to allow students in allied fields to acquire and then indicate, in a formal way, specialization in a nuclear-related area of expertise.

Program Director

Mark Jensen, Jerry and Tina Grandey University Chair in Nuclear Science and Engineering, Department of Chemistry

Department of Chemistry

Jenifer Shafer, Associate Professor

Mark Jensen, Professor and Jerry and Tina Grandey University Chair in Nuclear Science and Engineering

Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Linda Figueroa, Professor, Nuclear Science and Engineering Center Management Team Co-Chair

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Mark Deinert, Associate Professor

Andrew Osborne, Assistant Professor

Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Kip Findley, Associate Professor

Jeffrey King, Associate Professor, Nuclear Science and Engineering Center Management Team Chair

Ivar Reimanis, Professor and Herman F. Coors Distinguished Professor of Ceramic Engineering

Haitao Dong, Radiation Safety Officer

Department of Physics

Uwe Greife, Professor

Kyle Leach, Assistant Professor

Frederic Sarazin, Professor

Division of Economics and Business

Roderick Eggert, Professor