Geology and Geological Engineering

Degrees Offered

  • Master of Science (Geology)
  • Master of Science (Geological Engineering)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Geology)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Geological Engineering)
  • Master of Engineering (Geological Engineering) (Non-Thesis)
  • Professional Master Degree (Petroleum Reservoir Systems) (Non- Thesis)
  • Professional Master Degree (Mineral Exploration) (Non-Thesis)
  • Graduate Certificate of Economic Geology
  • Graduate Certificate of Exploration Methods

Program Description

The Department of Geology and Geological Engineering offers Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy degrees in Geology; and Master of Engineering, and Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy degrees in Geological Engineering. Professional Master Degrees are offered in Petroleum Reservoir Systems and Mineral Exploration. Geological Engineering degrees require possession or acquisition of an undergraduate engineering degree or its equivalent.

Graduate students desiring to study ground water, engineering geology/ geotechnics, mining engineering geology and some environmental applications are generally expected to pursue the Geological Engineering degree. Students desiring to study petroleum or minerals exploration or development sciences, and/or geology generally pursue Geology degrees.

Geoscience students may also choose among several interdisciplinary graduate programs comprised of faculty from several different Mines departments. The most common choices are Geochemistry, Hydrologic Science and Engineering, and Underground Construction and Tunnel Engineering.  Please see sections in the Catalog for each of these programs.

Professor and Department Head

Wendy Bohrson


David A. Benson

Zhaoshan Chang, Charles F. Fogarty Endowed Chair

Alexei Milkov, Director of Potential Gas Agency

Thomas Monecke, Director of CASERM and Co-Director of CMRS

Piret Plink-Bjorklund

Paul M. Santi, Director of CMS

Kamini Singha, Associate Dean of ESP

Stephen A. Sonnenberg, Charles Boettcher Distinguished Chair in Petroleum Geology

Lesli J. Wood, Associate Department Head, Robert Weimer Distinguished Chair

Wendy Zhou

Associate Professors

Yvette Kuiper

Alexis Navarre-Sitchler, Ben Fryrear Endowed Chair for Innovation and Excellence

Bruce Trudgill

Gabriel Walton

Assistant Professors

Kevin Cannon

Adrienne Marshall

Danica Roth

Research Professors

Marsha French

Richard Goldfarb

Zane Jobe, Director of the Chevron Center of Research Excellence

David Leach

J. Frederick Sarg

Richard Wanty

Research Associate Professor

Katharina Pfaff

Research Assistant Professors

Mary Carr

Ben Frieman

Teaching Professor

Christian V. Shorey

Teaching Assistant Professor

Brendan Hanger

Professor Emerita

Wendy Harrison

Eileen P. Poeter

Professors Emeriti

John B. Curtis

Thomas L.T. Grose

John D. Haun

Jerry D. Higgins

Murray W. Hitzman

Neil F. Hurley

Keenan Lee

Samuel B. Romberger

Keith A. Turner

John E. Warme

Robert J. Weimer

Richard F. Wendlandt

Associate Professors Emeriti

L. Graham Closs

Timothy A. Cross

Gregory S. Holden