Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Degrees Offered

  • Master of Engineering (Metallurgical and Materials Engineering)
  • Master of Science (Metallurgical and Materials Engineering)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Metallurgical and Materials Engineering)

Program Description

The program of study for the Master or Doctor of Philosophy degrees in Metallurgical and Materials Engineering is selected by the student in consultation with her or his advisor, and with the approval of the Thesis Committee. The program can be tailored within the framework of the regulations of the Graduate School to match the student’s interests while maintaining the main theme of materials engineering and processing. There are three areas of specialization within the Department:

  • Physical and Mechanical Metallurgy;
  • Physicochemical Processing of Materials; and,
  • Ceramic Engineering.

The Department is home to five research centers:

  • Advanced Steel Processing and Products Research Center (ASPPRC);
  • Center for Advanced Non Ferrous Structural Alloys (CANFSA)
  • Center for Welding Joining, and Coatings Research (CWJCR);
  • Colorado Center for Advanced Ceramics (CCAC); and,
  • Kroll Institute for Extractive Metallurgy (KIEM).

The Nuclear Science and Engineering Center (NuSEC) also operates closely with the Department.

A Graduate Certificate is offered by each Department Center – the requirements for the Graduate Certificate are:

  1. Be admitted to MME Graduate Certificate Program upon the recommendation of the MME Department.
  2. Complete a total of 12 hours of course credits of which only 3 credit hours can be at the 400 level.

The specific courses to be taken are determined by the Graduate Advisor in the Department Center selected by the candidate. A cumulative grade point average of B or better must be maintained while completing these requirements.

Primary Contact

Nancy Progar


Kip O. Findley

Brian P. Gorman

Michael J. Kaufman, Office of Research and Technology Transfer

Suveen N. Mathaudhu

Ryan O'Hayre

Ivar E. Reimanis, Herman F. Coors Distinguished Professor of Ceramics

Angus A. Rockett, Department Head

John G. Speer, American Bureau of Shipping Endowed Chair in Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Associate Professors

Geoff L. Brennecka, Fryrear Chair for Innovation and Excellence

Amy Clarke

Emmanuel De Moor

Jeffrey C. King

Corinne E. Packard

Zhenzhen Yu

Assistant Professors

Kester Clarke, FIERF Professor

Jonah Klemm-Toole

Vladan Stevanovic

Teaching Professor

Gerald Bourne, Assistant Department Head

Research Faculty

Lawrence Cho

Robert Cryderman

Prashun Gorai

Peter Green

Terry Lowe

Juan Carlos Madeni

Stephen Midson

Michael Sanders

Andriy Zakutayev

Affiliate Faculty

Corby G. Anderson

Grover Coors

Adam Creuziger

Ron Goldfarb

Sridhar Seetharaman

Erik Spiller

Patrick R. Taylor, George S. Ansell Distinguished Professor of Chemical Metallurgy

Terry Totemeier

James C. Williams

Professors Emeriti

Glen R. Edwards, University Professor Emeritus

John P. Hager, University Professor Emeritus

George Krauss, University Professor Emeritus

Stephen Liu, University Professor Emeritus, Inaugural American Bureau of Shipping Chair Professor

Gerard P. Martins, Professor Emeritus

David K. Matlock, University Professor Emeritus

Brajendra Mishra, University Professor Emeritus

John J. Moore, Professor Emeritus

David L. Olson, University Professor Emeritus

Dennis W. Readey, University Professor Emeritus

Chester J. Van Tyne, Professor Emeritus

Associate Professors Emeriti

Gerald L. DePoorter

Robert H. Frost

Steven W. Thompson