8.1 Faculty Awards

Each Fall, the Office of Academic Affairs will solicit nominations for the following faculty awards:

  • Mines Teaching Award (Teaching Faculty)
  • Mines Teaching Award (Tenured or Tenured Track Faculty)
  • Board of Trustees’ Outstanding Faculty Award
  • Alfred E. Jenni Faculty Fellowship
  • Faculty Excellence Award
  • W.M Keck Mentorship Awards
  • Excellence in Research Awards (Junior and Senior Faculty)

Details of the requirements for nominations are provided in the following sections for each specific award.

Nominations are sent directly to the Faculty Awards Committee. The Committee shall review the nominations and request full dossiers from the nominees’ Department Heads of those they wish to consider further. 

For all awards, the Faculty Awards Committee shall review the dossiers. With the exception of the Board of Trustees’ Outstanding Faculty Award, the Committee makes decision, and recipients are announced at the April Awards Celebration. For the Board of Trustees’ Outstanding Faculty Award, the Committee recommends a prioritized slate of recipients to the Board of Trustees, and the recipient is announced at the December Commencement ceremony.

The Faculty Awards Committee shall consist of the Associate Provost (Chair – ex officio non-voting), the Director for the Trefny Innovative Instruction Center (ex officio voting), the past recipients of faculty awards, an undergraduate student representative, and a graduate student representative.

Last Revision:

January 8, 2020